E-Judo

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
E-Judo

Judo network and forum

3 posters

Beginners in the IJF era

Taijutsuka

Beginners in the IJF era Empty Beginners in the IJF era

Post by Taijutsuka Mon Feb 16, 2015 7:44 am

I hope that this topic does not seem presumptuous. I am not at all hiding the fact that I'm a complete beginner in judo and that I have everything to learn.

In this age of the IJF, will a student be exposed to the full judo of Kanō-shihan during the course of training? We were told to lift our partners a couple of weeks ago in warm ups and I was stopped, as gripping below the belt is not allowed. (My lift was essentially the start of kata guruma).

I am not making this post just to complain, but to genuinely ask of seniors where one can pursue training of judo in all it entails, not just in terms of the Olympics. I don't presume that I will be able to master even a fraction of judo's waza, but there is a difference between that and going into the art without even the possibility of seeing it all.

I am not even talking about kata here (as much as I would like to study it); I get blank stares from people when I mention the idea of kata to people, who seem to be imagining McDojo krotty and Olympic TKD. They are not even aware that judo has kata.

My other training is in koryu and I am drawn to judo because it is such an excellent complement, both for conditioning and in what it represents. It is bizarre to me, though, how things are constantly being eliminated and bizarrely grafted on (like the blue keikogi, etc). I do not expect judo to be koryu but is it not supposed to have constancy of its own?

Advice?
    Jihef
    Jihef

Beginners in the IJF era Empty Re: Beginners in the IJF era

Post by Jihef Tue Feb 17, 2015 3:49 am

Taijutsuka wrote:Advice?
    Depending on where you live, maybe find another judo club. Twisted Evil
    Taijutsuka