E-Judo

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
E-Judo

Judo network and forum

+8
heikojr
JudoMum
Ricebale
Old Chestnut
judoratt
genetic judoka
Davaro
sydvicious
12 posters

Judo noob needs advice for first competition!

sydvicious
    sydvicious

Judo noob needs advice for first competition! Empty Judo noob needs advice for first competition!

Post by sydvicious Tue Jan 29, 2013 1:14 am

I've been doing Judo for about 7 months and I am currently 6th Kyu.

I'm entering my first competition in Feb, as there will be a category for novice-6th Kyu. I'm obviously very excited but also very nervous! Is there anything in particular I should prepare for or keep in mind? What are your memories of your first competitions and would you change anything if you could do it again?

Cheers
    Davaro
    Davaro

Judo noob needs advice for first competition! Empty Re: Judo noob needs advice for first competition!

Post by Davaro Tue Jan 29, 2013 1:55 am

Best piece of advice you are going to get: You have to breathe. Most guys in their first shiai tend to forget to do this... breathe and relax.

Dont worry about the other stuff... just try to enjoy the experience and take it for what it is; experience.
    Davaro
    Davaro

Judo noob needs advice for first competition! Empty Re: Judo noob needs advice for first competition!

Post by Davaro Tue Jan 29, 2013 1:57 am

PS - Love your avatar... reminds me of my favourite rugby team cheers
    sydvicious
    sydvicious

Post by sydvicious Tue Jan 29, 2013 2:02 am

Davaro wrote:PS - Love your avatar... reminds me of my favourite rugby team cheers

Thanks for the reply. It is my favourate team too, hence why I chose it Cool
    genetic judoka
    genetic judoka

Post by genetic judoka Tue Jan 29, 2013 2:05 am