E-Judo

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
E-Judo

Judo network and forum

5 posters

38 Yr old woman - two years in but still feel like a beginner, frustrated!! Hope to get some advice!

karsalis

38 Yr old woman - two years in but still feel like a beginner, frustrated!! Hope to get some advice! Empty 38 Yr old woman - two years in but still feel like a beginner, frustrated!! Hope to get some advice!

Post by karsalis Thu Dec 22, 2016 3:59 am

I started training almost two years ago as a way to get in shape, and also because my kids are learning so I may as well join them. I am a 38 yr old, and the only woman in the judo club, with mostly teenagers and 20-somethings. After 2 years in I still feel like a beginner. While my techniques have improved when doing crash pad, I am feeling frustrated that I cannot seem to apply anything in tachiwaza randori. Other students are either much bigger and stronger, or if they are my size (5"2 52 kg) they are teens who compete provincially and nationally. I can't seem to get anywhere. I am still an orange belt and feel myself stagnating. I really want to improve and train about 3-4 days a week but feeling really frustrated. If I go hard in randori I tend to get injured, so I wonder if I should just even bother with tachiwaza and focus on just the techniques for fitness purposes. I am resigned that I will probably not advance belts as the club I go to advances those who go to tournaments and win. At this point I don't know if I should bother continuing or just quit. Any advice is welcome.
    Y-Chromosome
    Y-Chromosome

38 Yr old woman - two years in but still feel like a beginner, frustrated!! Hope to get some advice! Empty Re: 38 Yr old woman - two years in but still feel like a beginner, frustrated!! Hope to get some advice!

Post by Y-Chromosome Thu Dec 22, 2016 4:32 am