Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Judo network and forum

    Go Kyo no waza - background / meaning of Kyo principles


    Posts : 839
    Join date : 2013-08-26
    Age : 44
    Location : Czech Republic

    Go Kyo no waza -  background / meaning of Kyo principles Empty Go Kyo no waza - background / meaning of Kyo principles

    Post by noboru Sun Jul 20, 2014 12:34 am

    The Kodokan separates the Nage waza techniques to five group - named as "Go Kyo no waza"  (stipulated in 1895 - 42 techniques) and Shin-Go Kyo (stipulated in 1920 - revision - 40 techniques).  In year 1982, 1997 were some next particulary changes.

    Summary - today Kodokan knows some Nage-Waza (Throwing Techniques) groups in their teaching curriculum (67 techniques):
    1 Dai Ikkyo
    2 Dai Nikyo
    3 Dai Sankyo
    4 Dai Yonkyo
    5 Dai Gokyo
    6 Habukareta Waza  "Preserved Technique"
    7 Shinmeisho No Waza "Newly Accepted Techniques"

    Back to Go Kyo no waza... Im interesting about background / meaning of Go kyo no waza 五教之技. The term Go Kyo we can translate as (五 "Go" - Five, 教 "Kyo" - Doctrine/Faith/Teach - meaning ???Teaching Principles ??? and 之 "No" - Of and 技 "Waza" - Ability/Skill/Craft/Performance).  In term Shin-Go Kyo the word "Shin" means New. Could be the term Go kyo no waza 五教之技  translated together as Five Teaching principles Of Ability (how throw of opponent) ?

    I found one source and there is written:
    unknown author wrote:Of these senior students Yokoyama, Yamashita, Nagaoka and Itsuka assisted Kano in codifying Judo’s pedagogy in the “Gokyo No Waza” (“Go meaning Five, “Kyo” meaning Teaching Principles and “No Waza” meaning – “Of Technique”) or Five Sets Of Techniques. Together they eliminated dangerous techniques and only included throwing techniques (Nage Waza). Judo was now to be taught in a well-structured process. Standing techniques were organized into five sets ranking from less strenuous to technically difficult to more advanced.

    I have some questions:
    Q1,Which principles (??? Teaching principles ???) do join the techniques in specific sets of techniques?
    Q2, Below is description of Go Kyo no waza from year 1895 and after revision from year 1920. It is from Kodokan webpages. Do you know / have you got any informations about reasons for revision process in year 1920 ?
    Q3,Some teaching principles were changed?

    Kodokan institute source:
    Classification of Waza Names

    Kodokan Institute website wrote:
    Kyu (Former) Go Kyo no waza
    Stipulated in 1895. (42 techniques)

    (group1) Hiza-guruma, Sasae-turikomi-ashi, Uki-goshi,Tai-Otoshi, Osoto-gari, Deashi-harai,
    Yoko-Otoshi (7 techniques)
    (group 2) Sumi-gaeshi, O-goshi, Kosoto-gari, Koshi-guruma, Seoi-nage,Tomoe-nage,
    Tani-Otoshi (7 techniques)
    (group 3) Okuri-ashi-harai, Harai-goshi, Ushiro-goshi, Ura-nage, Uchi-mata, Obi-Otoshi,
    Hane-goshi (7 techniques)
    (group 4) Uki-Otoshi, Uki-waza, Daki-wakare, Kata-guruma, Hikikomi-gaeshi, Soto-makikomi,
    Tsuri-goshi, Utsuri-goshi, Osoto-Otoshi, Tawara-gaeshi (10 techniques)
    (group 5) Yoko-guruma, Yoko-wakare, Uchi-makikomi, Kouchi-gari, Ashi-guruma,
    Seoi-Otoshi, Yoko-gake, Harai-tsurikomi-ashi, Yama-arashi, Osoto-guruma,
    Tsurikomi-goshi (11 techniques)
    * "Tsurikomi-goshi" was not included in the Go Kyo no waza at the time of stipulation in 1895. It seems to be included in at the end of Meiji era, around 1911.

    Go Kyo no waza
    Revised in 1920 (40 techniques)

    (group1) De-ashi-harai, Hiza-guruma, Sasae-tsurikomi-ashi, Uki-goshi,
    Osoto-gari, O-goshi, Ouchi-gari, Seoi-nage (8 techniques)
    (group 2) Kosoto-gari, Kouchi-gari, Koshi-guruma, Tsurikomi-goshi,
    Okuri-ashi-harai, Tai-Otoshi, Harai-goshi, Uchi-mata (8 techniques)
    (group 3) Kosoto-gake, Tsuri-goshi, Yoko-Otoshi, Ashi-guruma, Hane-goshi,
    Harai-tsurikomi-ashi, Tomoe-nage, Kata-guruma (8 techniques)
    (group 4) Sumi-gaeshi, Tani-Otoshi, Hane-makikomi, Sukui-nage,
    Utsuri-goshi, O-guruma, Soto-makikomi, Uki-Otoshi (8 techniques)
    (group 5) Osoto-guruma, Uki-waza, Yoko-wakare, Yoko-guruma, Ushiro-goshi,
    Ura-nage, Sumi-Otoshi, Yoko-gake (8 techniques)

    Thank you for your informations.

      Current date/time is Sat Jun 10, 2023 10:55 am