E-Judo

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
E-Judo

Judo network and forum

3 posters

returning to judo

LauroSkr

returning to judo Empty returning to judo

Post by LauroSkr Sat Oct 12, 2013 7:27 am

Hi,

i am 15 years old and i have been training in judo for 9 years. last year i didnt go to judo,because my clavicle was cracked during the battle and i made 2 more battles with cracked clavicle.

I met my trainer and he said that i need to return, i am afraid that i wont be good as i was before. i am ready to work hard again,how long it would be to get in good form again-3 times in a week training on tatami and 2 times weight room. I could run in the evenings and in the mornings . he said that my skill hasnt gone,i just need to get in great form.

And can you help me with fears before the battle,i am really worried before battles . i am unsure about my ability to win and i kinda dont believe myself.

Thanks Embarassed  confused 
    DougNZ

returning to judo Empty Re: returning to judo

Post by DougNZ Sat Oct 12, 2013 8:48 am

I'm guessing that, before your injury, were focussed on competition - battles.

I believe that non-judo training should be used to help judo, not to prepare for it.  My advice: just get back to judo.  Assess how your judo is after a month or so, by which time you will have got your timing and technique - and maybe your confidence - back.  Then do any extra training you think you may need to do.

Fear is mostly about uncertainty.  Two things may help: train hard so that you are more confident in your ability and there is more certainty that you will do well; and reduce the expectation or significance of winning so the outcome is less important.

I would like to talk about the importance of training all aspects of judo for self-development but suspect that, at your stage, shiai and competition is probably more of your focus.