E-Judo

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
E-Judo

Judo network and forum

+9
idealab
Stacey
hobit
BillC
Ben Reinhardt
jkw
tafftaz
Creamy creamy baileys
bluefuze
13 posters

Need Help Against Larger Opponents

bluefuze

Need Help Against Larger Opponents Empty Need Help Against Larger Opponents

Post by bluefuze Fri Oct 24, 2014 4:15 am

Hi all,

First time here.

I'm reaching out looking for advice, tips, technique suggestions, anything.

Okay, here's my story.

I've been doing Judo for almost 2 years... currently a Yellow Belt (soon to possibly be an Orange Belt). I just turned 37. I've really been enjoying Judo since I started, and it has made me a lot more fit than when I started. That was one of the reasons I started... I'm a Web/Graphic Designer, so I needed something to get me moving. Plus it's just a great skill to learn.

Okay, so I find that I do quite well when it comes to practicing technique in a controlled style, where we practice moves on each other in a repeated fashion. But Randori is definitely a whole other beast. Much different actually trying to put those moves into practice. Much more challenging for me.

Now, the problem that I've been having is this. Randori is challenging enough when it's against an opponent of equal rank and size. But if it's against someone much bigger and stronger than you, then it seems exponentially harder.

When I first started, there seemed to be more people that were comparable size as me. But lately, it seems that everyone showing up to class is what I would consider "larger than average" (me being average). I feel like a little guy surrounded by beasts. On top of that, the majority of them also happen to be Black Belts. Not all, but most.