E-Judo

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
E-Judo

Judo network and forum

+5
Ricebale
afulldeck
Cichorei Kano
JudoMojo
Ryvai
9 posters

What technique is this?

Ryvai
    Ryvai

What technique is this? Empty What technique is this?

Post by Ryvai Fri Jul 19, 2013 10:48 pm

When I first started Judo I watched Toshihiko Koga's New Wind and fell in love with his Ura-nage counter to seoi-nage. It can be seen here:

Ura-nage counter starts at 0:33

After watching it I went on to join my first Judo-competition ever and in my first match I was matched up against a black belt. I tried to replicate the technique in competition and it worked perfectly. Would you classify my counter as Ura-nage, Yoko-guruma or Daki-wakare? Thanks Smile

PS! Please be nice, I'm pretty new to judo, so my technique aint that crips ^_^
    JudoMojo
    JudoMojo

What technique is this? Empty Re: What technique is this?

Post by JudoMojo Fri Jul 19, 2013 11:57 pm

Looks quite like this:

Ryvai
    Ryvai

Post by Ryvai Sat Jul 20, 2013 12:33 am

JudoMojo wrote:Looks quite like this:

Exactly, that's why I am a bit confused as many people call similar techniques ura-nage.

Wish Cichorei would say his opinion. He seems like the kind of guy to clarify Smile
    JudoMojo
    JudoMojo

Post by JudoMojo Sat Jul 20, 2013 1:05 am

Ryvai wrote:
    Exactly, that's why I am a bit confused as many people call similar techniques ura-nage.
    Wish Cichorei would say his opinion. He seems like the kind of guy to clarify Smile

I try not to get tied up on technique classification these days (I'm just glad I threw someone!).
    I might easily call that throw ura nage too, and maybe be wrong.
    A lot of the time a rear counter looking like that will simply be called ura nage for the sake of simplicity.

I personally believe it to be daki wakare, but I'm no expert. It might well be a variation of ura nage, or something else entirely.