E-Judo

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
E-Judo

Judo network and forum

+20
Gus
JudoStu
Wandering WB
Neil G
Davaro
jkw
NavyRN
Ben Reinhardt
JudoSensei
Raj Venugopal
NittyRanks
idealab
DougNZ
afulldeck
Stacey
Nic
EternalStudent
Kaze
Anatol
lzybmbjj30
24 posters

Should I Switch to Judo?

lzybmbjj30

Should I Switch to Judo? Empty Should I Switch to Judo?

Post by lzybmbjj30 Fri Oct 17, 2014 1:10 pm

I'm a currently a brown belt in BJJ and wanted to hear different point of views on this matter.  I've been training in BJJ for over 10 years and know that I want to at least get my black belt in BJJ before switching to judo.  My question is for those on here that maybe have switched to different styles or stayed in the same one for the whole time, if you could go back would you have stayed in the same art until 8th or 9th dan or would you have switched to get a broader spectrum of skills in grappling?
    Gus

Should I Switch to Judo? Empty Re: Should I Switch to Judo?

Post by Gus Fri Oct 17, 2014 2:01 pm

I train both though Judo is my first love - I don't see why you need to switch - in terms of technique they enhance each other.
    Anatol

Post by Anatol Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:03 pm

I wouldn't switch. Only if I am 10th Dan, because then there is nothing more to achieve.
    Kaze

Post by Kaze Fri Oct 17, 2014 9:13 pm

Anatol wrote:I wouldn't switch. Only if I am 10th Dan, because then there is nothing more to achieve.

Even tenth dans can continue learning.
    EternalStudent
    EternalStudent

Post by EternalStudent Fri Oct 17, 2014 10:10 pm

If possible, I would train both. Often Insights gained in one style can be applied in the other, and thus help you grow. No one martial art is complete.

Last edited by EternalStudent on Fri Oct 17, 2014 10:10 pm; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : spelling)
    Anatol

Post by Anatol Fri Oct 17, 2014 10:32 pm

Hi Kaze

Kaze wrote: