E-Judo

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
E-Judo

Judo network and forum

5 posters

Hitting A Wall

LDS Judoka

Hitting A Wall Empty Hitting A Wall

Post by LDS Judoka Sun Oct 19, 2014 1:14 pm

I've had to re register because each new password I was sent didn't work. However this has overcome the problem.

I've been doing judo now for about 6 years and am currently nikyu. Within 6 months I intend to be ready for the Ikkyu grading - I have all my points so its a matter of refining the Nage No Kata and the techniques for demonstration.

My problem is that I seem to have hit a wall and I'm struggling with my motivation to train. Our club has 2 very fine but aged coaches and sometimes things are a little slow moving. I tried training with another club the other week with a younger ex Olympian coach and it was fantastic, however I am still struggling with motivation. I sometimes feel that I'm not progressing and I'm not getting any younger (just turned 57).

I would appreciate any advice if any others have had similar periods during their progression and how you overcame it.

Thanks heaps.
    Stacey
    Stacey

Hitting A Wall Empty Re: Hitting A Wall

Post by Stacey Sun Oct 19, 2014 2:36 pm

So, are you asking if you should switch clubs?

Meh, talk with your instructors about training at both places. Talk about the possibility of going to a clinic or taking a trip to another school - anything that will take you out of your current malaise by shaking you up a bit, making you see things a bit different. And remember to bring what you learned back to your dojo.
    r12477

Post by r12477 Sun Oct 19, 2014 5:58 pm

Are you able to split your training between both clubs?