E-Judo

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
E-Judo

Judo network and forum

3 posters

Starting Judo next week.

RonanP77

Starting Judo next week. Empty Starting Judo next week.

Post by RonanP77 Sat Aug 26, 2017 1:40 am

Hi all,

I just got in touch with the local judo club, they're starting back from their summer break next week and I'm going to go along and try my first class. The oldest member they have is 15 so that's not ideal and they only train one day a week but it's better than nothing. I'm expecting the 15 year old to get the better of me fairly easily anyway. I looked up Judo in the area a few times down the years but couldn't find anything so it's nice to finally be giving it a try.

I'm turning 40 in November (I'm only 5' 6" though and 156 lbs), I've been doing Bjj for just over 18 months, training 3 times a week and I've had a few competitions. I'm still a white belt and likely will be for another 12 months. I'm going on 12 hour shifts in November and every 2nd week I'll only get to one Bjj class, with Judo being on Thursdays it means I'll get two training sessions in those weeks instead of only one. I realise doing Judo one day every two weeks will mean progressing at a snails pace but doing it alongside Bjj, I expect they'll compliment each other. Standup is my biggest weakness in Bjj so Judo should give me more confidence there and a little advantage in competition.

Will the Bjj I've done so far give me a slight head start in Judo? Is there much ground work involved? All stand up will suit me better to be honest but if there's ground work I might at least not get completely slaughtered.

I'll have a good read through things here now and hopefully have a better idea of what I'm getting myself into.
    Y-Chromosome
    Y-Chromosome

Starting Judo next week. Empty Re: Starting Judo next week.

Post by Y-Chromosome Sun Aug 27, 2017 4:15 am

RonanP77 wrote:Hi all,