E-Judo

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
E-Judo

Judo network and forum

5 posters

How many times per week to progress

Mashu

How many times per week to progress Empty How many times per week to progress

Post by Mashu Sat Mar 22, 2014 5:34 am

Hello, I am just beginning Judo at age 39 and have been trying to put together a schedule that allows me to train every day, but that is proving difficult where I live with no full time schools and other obligations in life. My question then is how many times per week does one need to train in order to progress? I understand there are variables for each person, but my fitness level is at least average for my age and I have no athletic or physical limitations otherwise. I was told by my instructor that serious training would allow one to obtain a black belt in 6-7 years, and my goal would then be to make sure I train enough during the week to hit that. This is a school with 3 classes per week, so I'm assuming I need at least that many? Thank you in advance.
    DougNZ

How many times per week to progress Empty Re: How many times per week to progress

Post by DougNZ Sat Mar 22, 2014 8:09 am

I promise not to refer to the 'how long will it take me to get a black belt?' question.

Mashu, all I would like to point out is that training is not restricted to dojo time. Your local club offers three classes a week; I'm guessing 4.6 - 6 hours a week. Take off 56 hours for sleeping, 35 hours for school, 20 hours for chores and homework, 10 hours for family meals ... what are you doing with the other 41 hours?