E-Judo

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
E-Judo

Judo network and forum

+2
hedgehogey
JudokaRob
6 posters

Still struggling in Randori?

JudokaRo

Still struggling in Randori? Empty Still struggling in Randori?

Post by JudokaRo Thu Feb 14, 2013 5:53 am

Hello everyone,

I'm a former member of the other place and made my transition over here. Anyways, I seem to still be really struggling in Randori. I've been practicing Judo consistently for about 4 years and although I can perform uchikomi decently in some instances I seem to REALLY struggle with opportunity and commitment to throws.

Don't get me wrong, I definitely have my periods where I do well. I scored two Waza-aris and an ippon on a black belt last night with Tani Otoshi, Ouchi Gari, and the ippon was from De Ashi Harai.

I've also gotten an Uranage, De Ashi Harai, and Harai Goshi on a sankyu the other week, but it feels so forced and I don't feel like I can ever hit the throws I want to throw. It just feels...wrong?

My Sensei has said that for some odd reason I've gotten tremendously better in terms of movement and footwork, but I don't find myself constantly attacking like the other students.

I find that I tend to lie in wait until I feel like something presents itself, but by that time I'm usually in a position where I have to counter.

How do you guys normally go about Randori and what advice could you share to help me pull off those Seoi-Nages and Uchi-Matas?

Thank you.

Still struggling in Randori? Empty Re: Still struggling in Randori?

Post by Guest Thu Feb 14, 2013 7:23 am

JudokaRo wrote:Hello everyone,

I'm a former member of the other place and made my transition over here. Anyways, I seem to still be really struggling in Randori. I've been practicing Judo consistently for about 4 years and although I can perform uchikomi decently in some instances I seem to REALLY struggle with opportunity and commitment to throws.