E-Judo

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
E-Judo

Judo network and forum

3 posters

Overteaching in Kata

Taigyo

Overteaching in Kata Empty Overteaching in Kata

Post by Taigyo Thu Jan 10, 2013 5:28 am

Hi all, love the new digs.
    We recently had a gathering where the point was supposed to be to practice kata, but all of the people there that were teachers ended up trying to teach everyone and worrying about all sorts of fine points (me included). This got me to thinking about how my Judo and Koryu sensei actually teach kata. They do not worry so much about the fine points at first, give basic instructions to start with. Corrections are kept to a minimum (maybe one point per set) and students are allowed to grind away on them under supervision (not constantly interrupted). Of course with absolute beginners you may have to show them (not talk about it) again a few times until they are basically going in the right direction, but the point is to let them work on it.

Hanon brought this up in the preceding thread. Especially in nage no kata. Do not worry so much about exact positioning and other niceties with beginners. Get them headed in the right direction first then make adjustments along the way.

It is very easy to be drawn into over-teaching and become a pedantic blowhard(of course no one thinks of kata teachers in this way Smile ). You are so eager to share what you know, and probably your memory of all those corrections is fooling you. What you remember as endless corrections may actually have been spread out across time. I think this is also what may turn a lot of people off about kata, the endless corrections and negativity, they are not allowed to "do" anything. It seems like a dead exercise, some sort of shadow mockery of real Judo.