E-Judo

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
E-Judo

Judo network and forum

5 posters

Kata in the UK.

HumanRevolution
    HumanRevolution

Kata in the UK. Empty Kata in the UK.

Post by HumanRevolution Sat Jan 26, 2013 10:59 am

I'm new to Judo and I've seen nage-no-Kata on the internet whilst reading literature on Judo.
    I'm 4th Kyu orange belt, I'd like to ask about the "state" of Kata in the UK specifically England.

At what grade should you start Kata at?
    Is it common practice to perform Kata before a certain grade; if so what grade?

Could someone also provide me with books and videos on what Kata is like in the UK?

still learning

Kata in the UK. Empty Re: Kata in the UK.

Post by still learning Sat Jan 26, 2013 9:39 pm

Depends very much on the club. I've yet to come across any BJA clubs that are enthusiastic about kata, it generally comes across as one those things you have to do, not want to do.

Having said that, it also depends on how you define start kata. We teach okuri ashi barai kata style, that is with sideways steps, because it is an effective way of teaching the technique. I am sure many other clubs do the same. So you may find you're learning bits of kata without actually being aware. Similar things apply for ne-waza where escapes are taught that actually appear in the kata.

As for learning and practicing a complete kata such as the nage-no-kata, it takes a lot of time and mat space. Unless you are already reasonably competent at the throws (and very proficient at ukemi) that might not be the best use of your judo time, at present.

I guess it depends what you want to get out of your judo, but Birmingham has some great clubs just check on the BJA website to see how many.
    HumanRevolution
    HumanRevolution

Post by HumanRevolution Sun Jan 27, 2013 12:55 am

Is Kata absolutely relevant to progress to a Black belts grade?
    still learning